Travel Diaries: Touristy Things to Do in Phnom Penh

(I have drafted this for ages already and thought to make some edits just to keep my sanity from all the nasty work stuff that’s hounding me for the past weeks).

Off to the real thing. You can actually go to these places in one day because they are pretty much close to each other. And again, have the convenience of hiring a tuktuk for the day (rate is $15 last April). Not only will you experience their culture, it will also save you money since cab day rate is double. 😉

Central Market

Phsar Thom Thmei, more popularly known as Central Market, was built in 1937 under the French rule. The market is open from 7AM to 5PM and houses a variety of dry and wet stalls selling food, flowers, shirts, luggage, knickknacks, gold, silver, antiques and exotic food.

Photo courtesy of B.Carlos

But the best thing about Central Market is that they the friendliest merchants EVER (well at least the stalls we went to). You would want to buy everything from their stalls just because they are so pleasant. They will even offer you a seat while they get new stocks for you and bag your purchases.

Wat Phnom

This wat is set on a hill and boasts of having the largest clock in Cambodia; and loitering monkeys is a common sight too. Check the next photo below this one ok? Don’t get confused. 😉

 

National Museum

It houses antique pieces dating from the 4th century. Entrance Fee is just $3 and an extra dollar if you like to take photos. It’s open from 8:00AM-11:30, 2:00-5:30PM.

At the entrance of the National Museum

Royal Palace and Silver Pagoda

This complex reminded me of Bangkok’s Grand Palace; it’s much smaller, though. It’s open from 8:00AM-11:00, 2:00-5:00PM. Entrance fee is $3 for both the Royal Palace and the Silver Pagoda; as these are just adjacent to each other.

Wear long pants/skirt and shirts with sleeves just to be hassle-free. You will be refused to enter the premises even if you have a shawl with you but you’re wearing tank top underneath. 

One of the temples inside the Royal Palace complex. Photo courtesy of I.Chua

The Silver Pagoda

Where to Eat

Khmer Saravan

They serve a fusion of dishes so you can’t go wrong here. They decorated their walls with dedications from their clients hailing from different parts of the world and dined in their humble resto.

Tonle Bassac Buffet Restaurant

Their buffet costs $12 and there are a lot of dishes to choose from but I’m a bit disappointed because they have very limited selection for their dessert. Poor sweet-tooth me.

9 Comments

Filed under Photography, Travelogue

9 responses to “Travel Diaries: Touristy Things to Do in Phnom Penh

  1. Ivy

    I’m suprised that one of the pictures has my name in it. Hehe!!I actually missed the food in these two restaurants that you mentioned. Missed cambodia too. Can’t wait for trip to Siem Reap next time.

  2. I mistyped this website and luckily I found it again. presently am at my university I added this to favorites so that I can re-read it later regards

  3. As a Newbie, I am always searching online for articles that can help me. Thank you

  4. Wow! Thank you! I always wanted to write in my site something like that. Can I take part of your post to my blog?

    • jumbledcoffeethoughts

      I guess it’s ok…. but acknowledgment of this blog will be appreciated, though. thanks for dropping by 😉

  5. Pingback: Travel Diaries: Tuol Sleng Genocide Museum, Cambodia | Jumbled Coffee Thoughts

Leave a comment