Rediscovering Religion in Hong Kong

I am a laid-back Catholic. I love my religion because it is very democratic. You are aware that you are required to attend the holy days of obligation and Sunday masses but should you fail to go, you are not hounded as to why you did not go that day. Neither are Catholics required to give tithes; though we should, the church just allows you how much you want to share.

But ever since I got deployed in Hong Kong, I have never wanted to go to mass every Sunday as much as I do now. Maybe because, I’m so far from home and far from what is familiar to me all these years.

Funny how going to mass energized me and made me feel like I started my week right. Well, I really hope so. Because my first week almost felt like hell and this is the closest thing to feeling of what heaven’s like.

Our Lady of Mount Carmel Church

No. 1 Star Street, Wanchai, Hong Kong

Church Hours:

Monday to Friday: 9:00AM – 5:30PM

Saturday: 9:00AM – 7:00PM

Sunday: 8:00AM – 7:00PM

English Sunday Mass: 11:30AM, 6:00PM

This is the first time I ever saw a female sacristan assisting the priest and a lay ministress too. It felt weird. I thought I was on the wrong church. Like maybe this isn’t really ‘Catholic’ but it says it is. But I may have to ask around.

They also have a Filipino choir  and lay people on that 6PM mass. It almost felt like home.

Our Lady of Mount Carmel Church, Hong Kong

The statue at the lobby

6 Comments

Filed under Photography, Random Blurbs, Travelogue

6 responses to “Rediscovering Religion in Hong Kong

  1. Ivy

    Name palang ng church parang dito lang sa Pinas ha. It’s good that you found a church that you can go to on Sundays.

  2. pol

    ey wengski! kelan ka pa andyan sa hongkong? dyan ka na talaga nagwo-work?

Leave a Reply

