That Scramble To Sydney

Three months earlier….

It’s been a crazy and lazy three months but I thought I post something on this week-long Sydney assignment because I’ll be off on vacation soon and there’ll be new places to see and photos to post. 🙂

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Just one week into my new project last May and I had to rush to Sydney. I’m trying to make that sound like a complaint but I was only too happy to take over the tasks that a colleague is leaving me with. Few  get to have that kind of project handover anyway. So yes, I was giddy-stressed going through all my requirements for just a week’s notice before my flight.

It only took three days to get my business visa. And I was surprised that it's just on paper and not the usual visa label on passports. If you still require it, then it will cost AUD150.

It only took three days to get my business visa. And I was surprised that it’s just on paper and not the usual visa label on passports. Australian visas are electronically recorded so you won’t need the visa label anymore. If you still require it, then it will cost AUD150.

 

Skyview of the gorgeous sunset on the way to Hong Kong.

Skyview of the gorgeous sunset on the way to Hong Kong to catch my flight to Sydney.

 

After the 2-hour flight to Hong Kong; 1.5-hour waiting time for the connecting flight; and 9-hour flight to Sydney, I was home at last.

After the 2-hour flight to Hong Kong; 1.5-hour waiting time for the connecting flight; and 9-hour flight to Sydney, I was home at last. Sitting for hours made me so tired I actually fell asleep on the couch minutes later; and completely missed a meetup with my friend.

Tips:

  • Sydney is just two hours ahead of Manila so there really is no jetlag. It’s the hours of sitting on the plane that will really tire you out.
  • Getting a cab ride from the airport to the hotel in the center will cost you about AUD50.
  • Alternately, you can take the airport shuttle which will just cost you around AUD14 I think. The concierge will advise the nearest stop to your hotel in case it’s not the shuttle’s designated stop.  You can take this option if you travel light since you will have to lug around your suitcase to your hotel. 

I woke up around 4PM and had to scramble yet again because it’s a Sunday and shops close early and my stomach is rumbling. Plus I need to check our office location because getting lost on my first day is not an option.

The Sydney Harbor is within walking distance from the apartment.

So a quick check from the reliable Google maps and I headed out on foot to check the neighborhood. Some ten minutes later, I found myself at the Sydney Harbor; completely forgetting I was hungry.

And because I’m so horrible with directions, I managed to get myself lost and took the long and winding route to the office. Had I merely turned right, I would’ve found it immediately; less than five minutes away from the apartment and housed in one of the landmark buildings in the area, 1 Martin Place.

The preserved landmark buildings makes Sydney truly charming and worth coming back to.

The iconic landmark buildings are so charming and so irresistible that you just go trigger-happy with your camera.

Between being lazy and not having enough inspiration to blog, I hope I can put up another post on places to visit in Sydney because this is a very picturesque city and even with their cold weather, I am surprised at how warm the locals are. I wasn’t able to capture that with a photo but the experience surely made this short deployment sweeter than I could possible imagine.

Leave a comment

Filed under Photography, Travelogue

Leave a Reply

