Better Bones for Boystown Kids

It’s been years since I’ve personally gone on an outreach program; I would just usually contribute whatever our company or friends need for reasons ranging from conflicting schedules to just plain laziness.

But with the tie-up of our company with Better Bones Projectย last Saturday, August 17,ย it would be really shameless on my part if I don’t personally go. The venue is in Boystown Complex in Parang, Marikina; mere minutes away from our house. On foot.

DSC_3135

I got lost and joined another volunteer group I thought was joining our team. So there I was, attacking the rust like mad. ๐Ÿ˜€

A little side story. Imagine the humiliation if I’m late. And so I decided to be 15 minutes early and true enough, I was first in the venue. The wrong venue.

Based on the email I got, our activity was ‘milkfeeding/face painting“. Written on the admin’s whiteboard “milkfeeding/repainting“; it was supposedly a “joint activity” with a Christian community. So there I was, starting early on taking the rust out of the window grills with a steel brush, when I got a call that they are already setting up. It was a fun 30-minute chat with the other group of volunteers so I’m good. I bade them goodbye and went to the real venue.

From afar, I can already hear children’s voices and I walked faster. I’m excited but it also started to rain. ๐Ÿ˜‰

So here are some photos of the activities that gave me something to smile in the next days to come. Because typhoon Maring brought with her Mr. Habagat (southwest monsoon rains) and they both just wrecked havoc in Metro Manila and the nearby provinces.

Cute kid showing off his "strength". After I took his photo, he went on to checked how he looked. Adorable!

Cute kid showing off his “strength”. After I took his photo, he went on to checked how he looked. Adorable!

Finally we were able to make them take their seats for the short program.

Finally we were able to make them take their seats for the short program. But there were still a few who were too excited to sit. Very typical of kids. ๐Ÿ™‚

Spaghetti and fried chicken always win the heart of kids. :)

Spaghetti and fried chicken always win the heart of kids. ๐Ÿ™‚

The first joint of our company with the people behind the Better Bones Project. Cheers!

The first joint of our company with the people behind the Better Bones Project. Cheers!

If you want to support Better Bones Project, you can contact them through their Facebook page or you can contact me and I’ll be very happy relay them to the BBP team.

Leave a comment

Filed under Random Blurbs

Leave a Reply

