A Tin Can of Disappointment and Delight

I just think that the one who started the fad in the Filipino household of transforming these tin cans to sewing kits is evil. Hahaha :)

I just think that the one who started the fad in the Filipino household of transforming these tin cans to sewing kits is evil. Hahaha 🙂

Just imagine a kid’s disappointment when she opens the beautifully decorated tin can only to find needles and thread and whatnots instead of those butter cookies with granulated sugar on top. But it’s all good. 🙂

Cookies in tin cans were considered luxury in my childhood. It’s expensive and while my parents can probably buy us one, money was tight and it’s best to spend it on real food than butter cookies that we’re likely to demolish within minutes of opening it.

The very few times we actually have a tin can of these buttery delights, it will always be from customers in our salon or from our relatives abroad. These tin cans were never thrown away. It is usually recycled as a container of sorts but its common transformation in the Filipino household is a sewing kit. It was probably an idea of a mischievous person who delights in the disappointed faces of people. Who knows? Hahaha!

And so, I promised myself that one day, I will buy these things and enjoy it with my family. Having grown up with a fridge that’s just filled with food that we need and mostly bottles of water, I just have a simple wish. I want to open our fridge and find juice, milk, cake and ice cream. A kid’s simple wish. And I made good on that promise. 😉

I opened and there were real cookies inside! I just love it! :)

I opened and there were real cookies inside! I just love it! 🙂

Leave a comment

Filed under Random Blurbs

Leave a Reply

