All Your Children Want For Dinner Is You

My eyes are getting all messy again lately.  For reason that I thought I was already used to by now.  Apparently not.

I shuffled the songs on my playlist and as if on cue, Encounters With A Yeti‘s last track from their Pilot album came sneaking through my earphones. How literally apt. All Your Children Want For Dinner is You.

An awesome track that had me feeling so horribly miserable. Because it is exactly what we want. Something as mundane as having dinner with my father again. A simple enough wish if only death has not impossibly wedged itself between us and my father.

I remember bringing my dinner one time to their room because he can barely walk then. My mom went, “Bakit dito ka pa kakain?” I just made an incoherent mumble and went on eating as she assisted my father as he ate. That was the last time I had dinner with him. We sat silently in bed as we both ate. When before we eat with the tv on and with conversations that will start with one topic and end with another.

He enjoys this boodle feast so much and I don't know if I can enjoy this as much as I did when we're with him.

He enjoys this boodle feast so much and I don’t know if I can enjoy this as much as I did when we’re with him.

Chatting during dinner is never encouraged when we were kids. Well, they’re old school. They were reared that way, so were we. But as we grew up, dinner is filled with chatter about almost anything; from the ABS CBN soaps that my mother watch to PBA games that my father is fond of. He’s even brainwashed us to be Jaworski fans too! Fun times 🙂

While you still have the chance, spend time with your parents. As that saying goes, don’t be so busy growing up that you forget they’re growing old. Even as you fought and argued with them, you will miss them. The littlest of things will remind you of them. You will feel that catch in your throat. Your eyes will well. And you will try your darndest to fight the tears threatening to fall. You can act tough and hide behind a smile or just give in.

Note to self: Keep yourself busy. Go on a trip. Solo or otherwise.

Leave a comment

Filed under Music, Random Blurbs

Leave a Reply

