Vietnam Diaries: Elephant Waterfalls

This post is part of Vietnam Diaries: Exploring Dalat (Day 3).

This is the highlight of our countryside tour. The waterfalls is just gorgeous but I find the descent on those slippery rocks dangerous. Some call this a tourist death trap, and for good reason. There were steps but you can even barely call them “steps” because they don’t provide the much needed footholds for that extremely slippery descent. The handrails were but a rusty memory that it once existed to support those who trek down to see the waterfalls.

These are the steps that will lead you down the gorgeous view of the waterfalls. Should you ever dare, take utmost caution as you descend these slippery rocks.

I’m almost sure people who go to Elephant Waterfalls are willing to pay a higher fee than the measly VND5,000 (PHP10) they charge, for the construction of better and safer infrastructure.

Tips:

  • Trekking shoes/sandals are highly recommended. I saw some tourists take their shoes off and went barefoot but I don’t know if it’s a good move. There are jagged rocks and I will feel safer with my shoes on.
  • Protect your DSLR or digicam from the spray of the falls; place it in a waterproof case if you have one. But I have a fear that I might slip with one little misstep and so I took very few shots in this place.
  • Bring wet wipes to clean yourself after the hike.

I risked taking three shots of this scene then safely tucked my camera under my shirt as I was afraid of losing my balance on those slippery rocks.

Locals go further down for their catch.

1 Comment

Filed under Photography, Travelogue

One response to “Vietnam Diaries: Elephant Waterfalls

  1. Pingback: Vietnam Diaries: Exploring Dalat (Day 3) | Jumbled Coffee Thoughts

Leave a Reply

