A Bucket of Resilience and Humor Delivered at Room 3317

While most are celebrating the end of the 4-day work week last Friday, we all felt like we’re sitting on pins the whole day while waiting for the result of my father’s operation.  The morning was spent waiting for him to wheeled to the operating room, which turned out to be an hour late than scheduled. The afternoon proved to be the most agonizing wait I have ever experienced to date (it effectively overshadowed those times when I would wait for a message or invitation from crush. No matter how blunt. Nasingit pa talaga :P).

Even cancer cannot bring this man’s disposition and humor down.

The two-hour procedure turned into 3.5 excruciating hours before we were called to the Recovery Room. Seeing my father from the window almost broke my heart instantly but I held on. It was my mother who went inside to check on my father and talked to the doctor. I was reading her lips, her actions and my mother’s reaction. I thought, “This doesn’t look good”. I held on. Then some agonizing minutes passed, they decided to include me in the loop. The doctor was updating us and my mind stopped at cancer. It’s amazing how this word can numb you yet still allow you to ask the doctor those important questions on treatment options; as though you’re merely discussing business requirements: formal and direct to the point.

As we were advised to return to the room and just wait for my father, we walked in silence. I still held on. My brother was already in the room with stuff from the house. As Mom told him the news, we broke down. The Mom remained strong; but when she went to the toilet, I know, the news finally sank in.

Fast forward to Saturday, September 1. So mother already broke the news to my father and he was ok. I was thinking, “How can you be ok?” But he really is ok. It’s almost unreal. He said, “I’m 73. What more can I want?” It’s surprising that among all of us, it was he who took the news very well. The upside to all of these, now we know what we’re battling with and we just know how to counterattack this bastard of a disease.

  • Let the person know what he’s battling with. Anyone would want to know who their enemy is.
  • Good disposition makes things a whole lot bearable.
  • Misery and depression will only hasten and aggravate your sickness.
  • Don’t lose your humor. It really helps to find something funny even in the most dire of situations.

As we were talking about his lungs; I said, “Eh parang wala lung nangyari sa’yo eh.” To which my father replied, “Eh pano kalahati na lung ung isa.” That cracked us all up.

The medicine in picture below had us all laughing out loud including my sister and her husband as we videochat. We teased our brother endlessly that maybe he should be the one taking this med. Then again, there is this one creature who I think this med is created for.  Just saying! 😛

This medicine had us all in stitches. 😀

My family’s resiliency is really something.  As sick as he is, he doesn’t want to undergo chemotherapy. Not that he fears that it will make him weaker before he becomes stronger; but we thought, it was probably the off chance of him going bald. My dad and his hair are a pair. Guluhin mo na buhay niya, wag lang buhok niya. 😉

5 Comments

Filed under Photography, Random Blurbs

5 responses to “A Bucket of Resilience and Humor Delivered at Room 3317

  1. Laughter is the best medicine! 🙂 Stay strong & God speed.
    (‘blunt’ & ‘crush’ in one parenthesis, yeba!) 😛

  2. Ivy Chua

    Kulit pa din ni tatay kahit may sakit na. May sense of humor pa din.

    Diba nga ang gandang kanyang ngiti when we visited. And he was chatty huh. 😀

  3. Pingback: Tatay | Jumbled Coffee Thoughts

Leave a Reply

