Our Sunday Oldies Playlist Two Decades Later

When your favorite music is in the coolest thing on the planet: the cassette tape πŸ˜€

As my brother has work schedule on a Sunday, I decided to tag along to the grocery and replenish our supply of junk food, bread and yes, real food. Blasting on the radio were songs that is reminiscent of that distinct smell of perming lotion and AquaNet hairspray of our salon in Cubao.

Listening to the songs made us realize that years from now, these will be the old songs that will be playing on the radio, that is, if it hasn’t gone obsolete by then. I wonder if my niece and nephews will appreciate the songs as we learned to appreciate the songs that our parents shared with us as we were growing up. We grew up listening to The Platters, The Cascades, Frank Sinatra, Patti Page and Matt Monroe that we can actually sing them in videoke sessions at home.

I hope that WordPress is still live decades later. Or that I’m still tech-savvy by then and check on this post πŸ˜€ Have a happy Sunday!

First Love (Theme from The Pirate Movie)

Christopher Atkins & Kristy McNichol

First Love Never Dies

Eugene Wilde & Joanna Gardner

Love Me Like the First Time

Brenda K. Starr

All At Once

Whitney Houston

I’d Rather Leave While I’m In Love

Rita Coolidge

Come What May

Air Supply

First Time (used in Coca-Cola ad)

Robin Beck

It’s the Lover Not the Love

Tiffany

You

Albert West

Wish I Was Making Love

Alessi Brothers

8 Comments

Filed under Music, Random Blurbs

8 responses to “Our Sunday Oldies Playlist Two Decades Later

  1. Ivy

    Di ako makarelate. Does this mean I belong to the younger generation? πŸ˜ƒ

    Anyway I love what you just compiled. Favorite yung Brenda Starr and Whitney Houston. Thanks to our videoke sessions, I know them all. Pero younger generation pa din ako ha. I still know some One Direction songs. πŸ˜‰

  2. Oh no! All At Once!!!! :~( hahaha πŸ™‚

  3. I used to treasure music (and books) because it was something. I’d stare at the album cover, read the liner notes in the cassettes, and fill my case of music with all of the tapes I’d collected over the years. Now, I can fit every song ever recorded onto my little iPod. Like eBooks, I think it’s taken away the value a little.

    • Makes me nostalgic thinking about those years! I still have my favorite books and somehow leafing through the pages and smelling the paper give reading a different feel than swiping the screen.

      By the way, Wind River looks promising πŸ™‚ Good luck on your book!

      ** is actually tickled pink that a real writer visited. πŸ˜€ **

Leave a Reply

