Theatrical Tuesday

My sister and I are frustrated (feeling) Broadway singers so our videoke sessions are not complete without us trying to belt out I Dream a Dream from Les Miserables or Think of Me from the Phantom of the Opera. And our parents will mutter under their breaths, “Ano bang mga kanta yan?! Ang hirap hulihin ng tono.” Then again that is probably our fault. 😀 Even my brother appreciates The Phantom of the Opera and discovered that Nightwish actually did a cover (trust him to unearth the edgier and noisier version).

Once

I watched this Irish movie musical two years ago on DVD and I watched it again late last year and it still evokes the same  emotion because it is what love and life are all about. It’s exhilarating and  frustrating because sometimes no matter how good it may seem, it’s just not meant to be. It will be a treat to see this on Broadway. *wishful thinking*

Wicked

I love the songs in this play but I’ve yet to watch it. First time I heard For Good, the dam just bloody broke. (T_T) The song is about friendship but this song sums up one of the best times of my life. 😀 There will always be that one person who changes you. Not because it was asked of you; you just do because you want to be the best version of you for this person.

Chess

That the music is courtesy of Benny Andersson and Björn Ulvaeus of ABBA, is enough to make me want to watch this play.

Starlight Express

I was a kid when these songs (the pop version) were played on the radio and I would never have thought that these were songs from a play by Andrew Lloyd Webber. Quite interesting.

Rock of Ages

The musical staged at the Carlos P. Romulo auditorium at the RCBC is already sold out 😦 All shows until July 8. What surprising though is that Vina Morales plays Sherrie. She’s got the face but vocals, I’m not really sure. Bituin Escalante on the other hand has the power vocals for the role. If only….. I’m just going to leave that thought hanging… 😉

10 Comments

Filed under Entertainment, Music

10 responses to “Theatrical Tuesday

  1. Ivy

    I’m really hoping to watch all of these musicals kung magkaroon. I hope someone produces them again.

    The Rock Of Ages plays looks interesting too. Kainis naman kasi kung bakit si Vina pa talaga si Sherrie. LOL

    At ngayon ko lang narealize na yung Only You na kanta eh came from Starlight Express huh. I didn’t know that.

    • That’s wishful thinking because plays here are always on a limited run. 😦

      Imagine my surprise when I saw she’s playing it. Wala lang… and about Starlight Express, sabi nga ni Manny Pacquiao, “Now you noh” 😀

  2. Theatre Geek. 😛

    I honestly cannot relate while reading this post but had fun getting enlightened! hahaha 🙂

    Kailangan talgang may “I was a kid” na clarification sa Starlight Express?

    Peace! 🙂

  3. In fairness, kid din ako nun nung narinig ko yung Starlight Express. Pero hindi sa countdown like you hahaha 🙂

    May naalala akong song na luma na makes me feel sad pag naririnig ko even today. All At Once ata yung title nun.

    And excuse me, hindi tlga ako bigalou na cyber rockstar or burgeoning pigsa hahaha 🙂 isa lang akong fayatollah kumenis na ate madeska na hindi borgy manotoc, hahaha 🙂

    • Ahsus! Kung maka ‘kid’ ka diyan. hehehe

      Pero that Whitney song is a fave although super sad at laslas-pulso ang lyrics. **tabi ko lang tong blade!**

      Gosh! I never knew you were a linguist… a gay linguist. hahaha! Improving ka na! 😀

  4. I never did memorize or familiarized myself with the lyrics. Dunno what makes it a sad song when hearing it hahaha 🙂

    Ginoogle ko yan yung last sentence via the link you shared. Not by heart a 🙂

  5. I never did get to make the connection. One of the mysteries in my life kasama ng headache when having some Campbell’s Cream of Mushroom Soup. 😛

    I would take it to heart soon, but is scared of the ramifications hahaha I should’ve used some terms there for the new blog post hahaha 🙂

Leave a Reply

