The 17th Hot Air Balloon Fiesta

It was my first time to see this event and much as it is overwhelming due to the huge crowd milling about, I felt like a kid watching these ginormous hot air balloons soar into the early morning skies. And if you’re curious how a hot air balloon works, you might want to check this link.

This year, the festival ran from February 9-12. We went on Saturday and left Manila at 2:30 AM but even that early, traffic was barely moving as we approached Clark Air Field two hours later. It was already impossible to get near the fence as people already camped out the night before. So we had to make do with our location. Thank goodness for telephoto lenses but I still had to crop several shots to get rid of the bobbing heads in front of me.

Much as I enjoyed the balloons and the kites, it was the Philippine Army, Philippine Navy and Philippine Air Force exhibits that I enjoyed the most. It was fun gearing up and handling the mammoth guns and chatting with the men in uniform. And yes, I love men in uniform! It’s as though their uniforms have some undefined power that even those with average looks become quite dashing. Then again, that’s just me. 😉

3 Comments

Filed under Photography, Travelogue

3 responses to “The 17th Hot Air Balloon Fiesta

  1. Stu

    Wow, this looks great. I’ve always wanted to go up in a hot air balloon, sadly my other half is terrified at the thought! I suppose one day I’ll have to go up without her. Does it really feel like you’re flying? Stu 🙂

    • Hi Stu! Sadly we didn’t ride the balloons either. You have to have a VIP pass to even get close to the balloons. So we just watched, but it was still a lot of fun. When you finally ride one, do share how it feels like ok? Thanks for dropping by 😀

  2. Pingback: Skimming Through 2012 | Jumbled Coffee Thoughts

Leave a Reply

