Photoworld Asia 2012

This is the first time I attended this event at the Glorietta Activity Center and I found myself overwhelmed at all the cameras and lenses on display. I was hoping to catch a glimpse of the Nikon D4 but sadly it was not on display, not even a prototype of it. Nevertheless, it was a chance to visit stores that can only be found in Hidalgo, Quiapo.

I even met a very serious-looking-but-turned-out-to-be-an-amiable man, June Dimayuga of M20. It was fun chatting with this guy that I ended up returning to their stall the following day to purchase my new baby. Then again, maybe it was his off-handed compliment on my smile and me being photogenic (when he tried an 85mm lens on me) that made me come back. He actually repeated ‘photogenic’ a few times that made me wanna say, “One more time and it will feel like an insult already”. Hahaha. But he really is a nice fella (once you get beyond his poker face 😉 ). Seriously, M20 gave the best deal for the Nikon 55-300mm lens (it has a 2-year CSDC warranty) and UV filter at 50% off.

Most of the stalls have models whom you can take photos of: Canon has its model in a Cosplay costume and another that you can practice your studio portrait shots on; Olympus has their body painted models; Sony and Phottix have their statuesque models. It was only Nikon that has their booth setup as a classroom with premier speakers like veteran photographer George Tapan (2011 National Geographic photo contest winner), Ricky Ladia (Nikon professional on Creative Lighting and Flash Photography), among others. They conducted short seminars for free and in my opinion, more than the models that you can practice shots on, this is the most helpful as you get to learn from the experts, with no cost at that. It was just difficult to focus on them with all the blasting music from the surrounding competition. But no complains here.

4 Comments

Filed under Photography

4 responses to “Photoworld Asia 2012

  1. I really appreciated the seminars provided by Nikon. Since I’m not into fashion or glamour, models isn’t really on the top of my list.

    Thanks for dropping by my blog! that one photo you have of the person trying out the bazooka is my friend 😀 I’ll show him your blog.

  2. Hello! I simply would like to give an enormous thumbs up for the great info you may have right here on this post. I shall be coming again to your blog for extra soon.

  3. Pingback: Skimming Through 2012 | Jumbled Coffee Thoughts

Leave a Reply

