Birthday Post

As a kid, I thought that the age of 20 is already considered ancient; and now, decades later, here I am. Does this make me an archeologist’s cherished find then? Come to think of it, maybe I should find myself an archeologist. LOL.

In my mid-20s, depression sank in months before my birthday and what used to be celebrated was now dreaded.  And more so when the last vestiges of my 29th year are looming, I wish I could stop time so I won’t be 30. Well no success there. But the years have been kind to me and though I’m still a work in progress, I like to think that the years weren’t wasted as I’ve learned some things along the way.

  1. Act your age but don’t look it. Have fun. Smile. Laugh. Giggle. Swoon.
  2. Dress not to please others but yourself.
  3. M.A.L.E. – More Acceptance Less Expectations. And that’s not just for relationships; it’s life in general. The more we expect, the more we’re likely to get disappointed. Just go with the flow.
  4. Travel. There’s no need to splurge on accommodations because you didn’t go to that place to sleep anyway (but researching on reasonably priced hotels will be good). Stroll. Explore. Get lost. Take lots of photos. And it doesn’t have to have your face in it all the time.
  5. But it’s good to know which angle you look better… then strike that pose 😉
  6. Share your time and blessings to others.
  7. What you think of me shouldn’t matter since I don’t have control over your opinions. There will always be people who will like, dislike or be apathetic about you. Learn to deal with it.
  8. When someone likes/loves you; don’t gloat. Be humbled that in spite of your imperfections, someone thought you were the most amazing person in the planet.
  9. “You complete me” is too romanticized.  You should not go into a relationship hoping your partner completes you because what a vicious cycle it will be if that partner leaves you.
  10. Learn to give a compliment and take one too. Don’t be a sucker for compliments lest you become obnoxious. Nor should it be given excessively as it will make the receiver cringe in discomfort and feel patronized.
  11. You should be able to take what you give. If you tease others, make sure you can handle them as well. Wag pikon.
  12. Never answer an email or text when you’re angry because it sets the tone of your reply.
  13. You don’t own your friends. Hold them as you would the sand on your palm; neither too tight nor too loose because either way, it will slip away.
  14. Beauty is in the eyes of the beerholder. *cheers*
  15. Treat yourself. You work your @s$ off (and endure boredom too) so you’re entitled to some indulgence.
  16. You will appreciate your parents as you get older.
  17. Saying ‘po’ and ‘opo’ is never too passé (just stay away from the jejemon versions please).
  18. An offered seat on a train or bus is not an obligation but an act of kindness. Say thank you and make the person feel you’re worth giving the seat to (hindi yung gustong bawiin sa’yo kasi ingrata ka).
  19. Pray. Your religion doesn’t even matter. And never go into an argument about religion; it will drag on forever and you’ll end up pissed at each other. Whether you admit it or not.
  20. Be thankful every single day that you get to wake up. That mundane thing we ignore is what every comatose patient’s love one prays for.

More than three decades of existence makes it impossible to encapsulate everything in a single post so I end it here and share this song by Baz Luhrmann.

3 Comments

Filed under Random Blurbs

3 responses to “Birthday Post

  1. Ivy

    Can I post the borrow the top 20 things that you have here and post it somewhere as a reminder everyday? Well said. And waah.. grabe girl na girl ka kahit na bata ka pa. Parang si Micai ha. First time I saw your kiddie picture.

  2. jumbledcoffeethoughts

    Sure, there’s a share button there naman… so feel free to share it.

    And yeah, Micai and I really look alike! Ü

  3. Pingback: Thoughts I Chose to Live By: A Birthday Post | Jumbled Coffee Thoughts

Leave a Reply

