That Sneaky Credit Card Promo

image via maxine.com

Dealing with credit card customer service representatives requires patience, tolerance and piety. Yes, I need my fear of God in dealing with them because I swear, if I could strangle them through the phone, I really would.

I discovered that annual fees were already charged for my two credit cards. So I have to call them and ask if they can reverse it since I always pay in full and on time (well, almost always). In short, I’ve got good credit standing. And so, much as I hate the idea of dealing with these CSRs, I did.

I decided to deal with EastWest Bank (formerly AIG) credit card first. The girl advised me to either spend P1,000 within the month so they can reverse the P1,200 annual fee or just use my points to offset it. I opted for the latter because I hardly use that card anyway.

Next, Metrobank. Here’s where the fun begins! After a few niceties and account verification, here’s what transpired (not verbatim, though) with the Metrobank CSR:

Me: I hope you can reverse the P1,500 annual fee because I always pay in full anyway and almost always  pay on time. Can you make some consideration for that?

CSR: Ma’am we can’t just reverse it but we do have an ongoing promo.

Me: Which is?

CSR: If you spend P4,000 within the next 30 days, give us a call and we’ll reverse the annual fee.

Me: (laughing sarcastically) Is this some kind of a joke? Kasi natatawa ako sobra.

CSR: (keeps quiet)

Me: I’m asking you to reverse P1,500 and you’re telling me to spend P4,000? You’ve got to be kidding me.

CSR: Ma’am that’s our ongoing promo and it’s to encourage you to use the card.

Me: Para malubog sa utang ung mga client niyo? Is that it? Don’t answer that. Anyway, just use the points I’ve earned for the annual fee.

CSR: Ma’am you need 10,000 points for the annual fee and you currently have  7, 165.

Me: Just deduct whatever and bill me the remaining.

CSR: Ma’am we’ll just deduct 5,000 points, so your annual fee is now only P750.

Me: Whatever. Thank you.

My heart is still palpitating ten minutes after putting the phone down. Are we really in good hands with them????

What a seriously preposterous promo! I swear! I had to bite my tongue to prevent myself from spewing more sarcastic remarks on the poor CSR, who just happens to represent a sneaky company that dupes their clients with such an absurd promo.

To the few people who read this, I just thought to share some tips:

  • Always pay your outstanding balance in full (if you can).
  • Never charge today what you cannot pay for when your bill arrives.
  • Know your cut-off dates so you can buy more time before your purchases reflect on your bill.
  • Be aware of balance transfer promos. Some credit card companies offer as low as 1% interest if you avail of their card and transfer your outstanding balance from another card company.
  • Call your card company CSRs and ask them for balance conversion, where you will pay your outstanding balance in equal installments instead of paying the minimum amount. They usually offer 2% interest as oppose to the 3.25% interest plus finance charges if you can’t pay in full.
  • Always check your bill so you don’t get billed for stuff you didn’t purchase.

I am sharing this so we can stop these credit card companies from ripping us off with their so-called promos and shielding ourselves from the quicksand of debts.

~~ Make your credit work for you. Don’t work for your credit card. ~~

2 Comments

Filed under Random Blurbs

2 responses to “That Sneaky Credit Card Promo

  1. Ivy

    Crazy right? Buti nga sa metrobank, 4k ang promo nila to reverse the annual fee of 1500. Sa iba higher than 4k. I think 7k sa HSBC. Annual fee nasa ganyan din. I think yan na ang usong pakulo ng mga credit card companies ngayon

    • jumbledcoffeethoughts

      I’m just wondering who in their right minds will actually buy this kind of BS. Isang malaking JOKE! nakakalokah! affected ako! hahaha >:)

Leave a Reply

