Real Books Still Rock

When this chinky-eyed, nerdy-looking blogger” alerted me about the Manila International Book Fair held at the SMX, I would have gone had it not been for the incessant rains and the resulting curse-worthy traffic (plus I’m trying to rein in my spending :) ).

So here’s what I have in my shelf (I disposed a lot in recent years and kept my favorite ones). I may get a tablet but I don’t think I’ll get eBooks. I derive pleasure in holding a book; smelling its pages and leafing through it. It may be less inconvenient and impractical in this digital age but it’s different. And as the Backstreet Boys say, I want it that way.

I’m not a serious reader. I am not fond of fiction stuff but I would soon advance to that. Or not. ;)

These two books are probably as “serious” as I can get. The third book, Surprise Party is one of the best suspense books I bought for a measly P10. :D

Thanks to my generous sister for the special illustrated version of The Da Vinci Code. Even my not-so-bookish brother got into this one.

I read suspense, romance, drama and even medical thrillers. Mom even tried reading Robin Cook’s Harmful Intent, something about anesthesia gone wrong, at the most opportune time: during my father’s confinement. Imagine her stress. She was actually ranting on me about the book, as though the characters were real. :)

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

“If you go home with somebody, and they don’t have books, don’t fuck ‘em!”

― John Waters

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

 

My sister loves Mitch Albom and she would often leave and share her books. By the way, Danielle Steel’s The Promise was made into a movie and the main soundtrack is just perfect. ♥

These books are hilarious and good company on those lovely me times at the coffee shop.

These illustrated books (The Blue Day Book and Have Some Sand) are quick reads and lovely companions as well when you’re at a coffee shop or salon, getting a foot spa or pedicure.

And the best companion when you’re stuck in traffic. Be careful though; it’s bound to make you look stupid because you can’t help smiling and at times, you will let out a soft snigger that will elicit a look from your co-passengers. :D

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

“Read, read, read. Read everything — trash, classics, good and bad, and see how they do it. Just like a carpenter who works as an apprentice and studies the master. Read! You’ll absorb it.

 Then write. If it’s good, you’ll find out. If it’s not, throw it out of the window.”

 ― William Faulkner

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

18 Comments

Filed under Photography, Random Blurbs

18 responses to “Real Books Still Rock

  1. Ivy

    I’m curious with the Confessions of a Serial Kisser all about? What’s that all about?

    And uou know I was interested in going to the book fair.. Sana pala doon na lang tayo nagpunta niyon nung Friday. I think the book fair started on Thursday and ended kanina 09/16. I was planning to check it out yesterday but when I saw tweets na grabe ang traffic, I decided not to.

  2. Thanks for the mention, albeit with an inaccurate description of me. hahaha :)

    What?! No mention of Christian Gray & Anastasia starred magnum opus? bollocks! :)

    Speaking of books, you might like to check out Stanley Chi’s Pogi Points book, I contributed an article ( 1 whole page! ). And maybe write a review of the book? http://www.stanleychi.net

    Sorry, should’ve warned about the shameless plug. :)

    • Your words, not mine :D That’s why I put it in quotes coz I don’t have the resources in case you sue me for plagiarism. hahaha

      Thank goodness those were merely PDF files. Easily disposable. hehehe

      I heard about that book and read some excerpts on that and the Suplado too :D How can I make a review, wala pa ko nung book? How about autographed Pogi and Suplado books for the “shameless plug”, as you say? hahaha **di masamang umasa… :P**

  3. Maybe it’s still in the recycle bin! go check! hahaha :)

    Either you buy a copy, or hingi ka sa author. I’m sure he’ll gladly gift you one :)

    Would you even benefit from pogi points tips or would you use it against the opposite sex? hahaha :)

    • Ah yah! Nerdy was just “semi check”! hahaha :D

      As opposed to your perception, I’m really shy noh! :P

      Pogi points from a female (with gayish tendencies) perspective. As they say, “Pasok sa banga, Mars!” So hingi mo na lang ako kay Mr. Chi, token para sa isang beks na magbi-birthday next month. hahaha :D

  4. Wait, I’ll tag him in a tweet :) Mabait naman si Mr. Chi, malay mo naka-gift wrap pa. ;)

  5. wow. sidney sheldon cooper books! like!

    also, that last book. hehe. =D

  6. Pingback: The “Inconvenience” of books | J. Keller Ford ~ YA Fantasy Author

  7. You had me with the title of your blog and the mention of The Backstreet Boys. :-)

    I love real books. I love the way they smell, the way the feel, the sound of the pages as we turn them. Move over Kindle. I like my books like I like my men – real and authentic.

    • jumbledcoffeethoughts

      My exact sentiments. I don’t mind being inconvenienced if it means having the real thing.

      I love that analogy on books and men. So apt! :)

      It’s not everyday that a real writer drops by my virtual home. Thank you, Jenny for the the visit and the nice words. :)

Leave a Reply

